Rapinoe’s Perfect Spot Yields the Perfect Shot

The U.S. Women’s National Team proved their goal-scoring prowess yet again. Hosting Guatemala last week as part of the CONCACAF Women’s Championship — which serves as a qualifier for the 2015 Women’s World Cup — the U.S. scored four goals in the second half, resulting in a 5-0 victory. The fifth goal was a stunner from Megan Rapinoe. Watch as she moves into open space, lurks at the top of the penalty area, waits for a rebound and then sends a curling one-touch shot into the net.

Be sure to watch this clip a few times to see how Rapinoe moves. Young soccer players tend to crowd around the ball and this is the perfect example of how being in the right position away from the ball can result in a goal. Try this in your next RSA game!

Posted in Tips & Techniques | Comments Off

Columbus Day Camp at Red Bulls Training Facility

RSA’s training partner, the New York Red Bulls Training Program, is offering a Columbus Day camp at the Red Bulls training field in Hanover, N.J. on October 13, 2014. Sessions will be run by Red Bulls youth trainers and will feature skills training on the same field the first team uses.

This is a great opportunity for your child to receive expert soccer training in a professional setting. Your kids will feel like a pro for a day! To sign up, click here.

Posted in General Info | Comments Off

Robles Ready for Rebound

Goalkeepers need to be quick. Not just to make the first save, but the second if it comes off a rebound. Red Bulls goalkeeper Luis Robles did just that last Saturday during a decisive 4-1 win against the visiting Seattle Sounders.

Watch as Robles makes the first amazing save off a deflection, and then gets up right away for the rebounded header from Clint Dempsey.

Had Dempsey scored, it wouldn’t have mattered much. The Red Bulls had a 4-1 cushion at that point in the game. But sometimes a come-from-behind goal can swing the momentum of the game and cause grief for the leading team.

Posted in Tips & Techniques | Comments Off

Coaching Tips from NSCAA

Volunteer coaches are the backbone of RSA so we always like to provide information that will help our volunteers continue to do a great job for our players. The National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) has terrific coaching resources on their site. Whether you’re an experienced coach or are just starting out, you know that it all begins with the fundamentals. Here’s a great link to get you started.

We hope you’ll continue to read the NSCAA site and other coaching sites so that you can be the best rec soccer coach in town! We also have a bunch of links on our Coaches page.

Thanks again for volunteering and supporting 1,300 rec soccer players in Ridgewood.

Posted in General Info | Comments Off